Milwaukee Continuum of Care Lead Agency

The City of Milwaukee is the designated lead agency for the WI 501- Milwaukee City and County Continuum of Care.  As the lead agency, The City of Milwaukee is responsible for: staffing CoC committees, producing planning materials, coordinating needs/gaps assessments, collecting and reporting performance data, monitoring program performance, coordinating resources, integrating activities, facilitating collaboration, preparing collaborative application for CoC funds, being media point of contact for information on homelessness in Milwaukee County, maintaining CoC website, entering into all contracts and MOU’s on behalf of the CoC, and monitoring performance under these contracts.  The CoC requests executed Memorandum of Understanding agreement (MOU) from all CoC-funded agencies on an annual basis.

Contact Information:
Steven L. Mahan, Director, The City of Milwaukee – Community Development Grants Administration
200 E. Wells Street – Room #606
Milwaukee, WI 53202

Rafael Acevedo, Continuum of Care Contact, Grant Compliance Manager – Community Development Grants Administration
200 E. Wells Street – Room #606
Milwaukee, WI 53202

Claire Shanahan, Continuum of Care Contact, Continuum of Care Specialist
200 E. Wells Street – Room #606
Milwaukee, WI 53202

A visual of the re-structure can be found here: Structure Organization of Mke CoC


**The CoC Governance Charter is currently in revision.**
The Milwaukee CoC encourages an open invitation process. Current invitation methods are: announcements at CoC or work group meetings, newspapers, public inquiries, letters/emails to CoC lead agency for membership, and outreach to organizations/faith-based groups.

In addition, the Continuum will continue to increase membership with new partners. In particular, it will work to expand partnerships with private sector entities, as well as with non-profit housing development organizations to include entities with expertise in developing, operating and maintaining permanent housing for persons with disabilities, chronically homeless and veterans, especially individuals with mental illness and families.

Board of Directors

In total, there are 28 seats on the CoC Board of Directors. Terms are for three years. Existing representatives may be designated for successive terms, at the will of the respective Board member organization. The CoC Board of Directors is the lead decision-making body responsible for planning for the use of U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s HEARTH Act CoC resources, and coordinating these funds with other relevant resources in the jurisdiction.  Board of Directors seats include representatives of nonprofits, the city of Milwaukee, Milwaukee County, city of West Allis, local universities, housing developers, school districts, city of Wauwatosa, philanthropy, employment assistance, health care and the Shelter and Transitional Housing Task Force.

Milwaukee Continuum of Care Board of Directors Roster 2018

  1. Andi Elliott, Community Advocates
  2. Amy Lorenz, Milwaukee County Behavioral Health Division
  3. Lt. Cassandra Libal, Milwaukee Police Department
  4. Claire Johnson, Milwaukee Public Schools
  5. Clifton Crump, City of Milwaukee Fire & Police Commission
  6. Dan McCarthy, Town Realty
  7. David Nelson, Medical College of Wisconsin
  8. David Pifer, Legal Action Wisconsin
  9. Emily Kenney, Impact, Inc.
  10. Greg Schramka, Aurora Health Care
  11. Mildred Coby, Employ Milwaukee
  12. Gwat Young Lie, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  13. Jim Mathy, Milwaukee County Housing Division
  14. John Stibal, City of West Allis
  15. Jose Perez, City of Milwaukee Common Council
  16. Kent Lovern, Milwaukee County DA Office
  17. Kristin Haglund, Marquette University
  18. Luke Radomski, City of West Allis
  19. Mark Hilton, Milwaukee Center for Independence
  20. Marynel Regan, City of Milwaukee Fire & Police Commission
  21. Mike Hafemann, Milwaukee County House of Corrections
  22. Nancy Esteves, Institute for Community Alliances
  23. Peggy West, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors
  24. Pooja Dhaliwal, Milwaukee County Housing Division
  25. Rachel Kumferman, City of Wauwatosa
  26. Shannon Reed, United Way of Greater Milwaukee and Waukesha County
  27. Ted Matkom, Gorman and Company
  28. Tim Baack, Pathfinders, Inc., Shelter and Transitional Housing Task Force Representative

Provider Advisory Committee

The  Provider Advisory Committee is comprised of members from CoC, CDBG, ESG (Federal, State and City), and HOPWA funded agencies. It is convened to facilitate service delivery among providers, provide input to the Board of Directors on funding and service delivery issues, and to help in the resolution of service delivery issues that may arise at the local, state or federal levels.  Each agency on the Provider Advisory Committee designates two voting representatives (a primary representative and secondary representative).

Provider Advisory Committee Member Agencies 2017

  • AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin
  • Cathedral Center
  • Center for Veterans Issues
  • Community Advocates
  • Daystar, Inc.
  • Friends of Housing
  • the Guest House of Milwaukee
  • Heartland Alliance
  • Hope House
  • IMPACT, Inc.
  • Institute for Community Alliances
  • La Causa, Inc.
  • Mercy Housing – St. Catherine’s
  • Milwaukee County Housing Division
  • Outreach Community Health Centers
  • Pathfinders
  • Sojourner Family Peace Center
  • the Salvation Army of Milwaukee
  • Walker’s Point Youth and Family Services